Lying in the south-west Pacific, New Zealand consists of two main islands – the North Island and the South Island. Stewart Island and many smaller islands lie offshore.

The North Island of New Zealand has a ‘spine’ of mountain ranges running through the middle, with gentle rolling farmland on both sides. The central North Island is dominated by the Volcanic Plateau, an active volcanic and thermal area. The massive Southern Alps form the backbone of the South Island. To the east of the Southern Alps is the rolling farmland of Otago and Southland, and the vast, flat Canterbury Plains.” —
Why We Recommend Travel Insurance

Insiders on: New Zealand

  • Currency: New Zealand Dollar
  • Official Languages: Predominantly English, with over 80 other languages spoken
  • Weather: The north region is tropical, with a wet and dry season. To the south the climate is generally moderate.

Travel Insiders

Andrea Andrade

“In Europe …”
See Profile

Betty Morgan Australia Travel Specialist

Platinum Card members may also contact an Insider at
Learn more >

What do we mean by “Insiders”?

Click play to find out.